Surry County 250th

Surry County 250th logo

“In December 1770, a bill was proposed in the General Assembly of North Carolina to erect a new county from the northern portion of Rowan County. On January 26, 1771, more than five years before the birth of our nation, the Assembly approved the creation of Surry County, which at that time encompassed modern day Forsyth, Stokes, Surry, and Yadkin counties.”

This page will commemorate the events and happenings of Surry County's Sestercentennial year, 2020. Check back regularly as 2020 unfolds.

In the meantime, receive a complimentary guide to start planning your 2020 trip to Surry County. Several guides are available, including a visitors guide, Surry County Wine Trail guide, Surry Sonker Trail guide, outdoor recreation map and events calendar. Click below to request a guide or guides ...